Boys Of The Lough

Boys of the Lough is a Scottish-Irish folk band. The band for their first album, called Boys of the Lough (1972) consisted of Aly Bain (born 1946, in Lerwick, Shetland, Scotland) (fiddle), Cathal McConnell (born 1944, in Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh, Northern Ireland) (flute), Dick Gaughan (born Richard Peter Gaughan, 1948, in Rutherglen, Glasgow, Strathclyde, Scotland) vocals and guitar) and Robin Morton (born 1939, in Portadown, Co Armagh, Northern Ireland) (flute). Dick Gaughan left to pursue a solo career and Dave Richardson (born David Richardson, 1948, in Corbridge, Northumberland) (mandolin) joined. This line-up (without Dick Gaughan ) was constant for the next six albums. Dave Richardson was also a writer of new material. They played ensemble instrumentals and the occasional song, equally divided between traditional sources from Ireland and Scotland. Their 1978/79 tour was billed as their final tour. However, they returned a year later with Regrouped (1980). Robin Morton had left and the "Regrouped" line-up had three new members, including John Coakley (fiddle) who remained with the group for the next twelve years. Their 1980s sound also included Christy O'Leary from County Kerry (uilleann pipes), who had previously toured with De Dannan. During a car accident in Northumberland in 1983, Tich Richardson (guitar, bass) died. In 1992 Boys of the Lough played at Carnegie Hall. In 1993, the band released The Day Dawn. At about this time, John Coakley left the band. Several years later, the band released Lonesome Blues and Dancing Shoes (2002). The group invited guests to appear for a single album. Chris Newman (guitar) and Kathryn Tickell (northumbrian pipes) sat in with the group on tours and albums. After thirty-two years, Aly Bain left to play with other musicians, most notably Phil Cunningham (accordion), and was replaced in 2002 by fellow Shetland fiddler Kevin Henderson of Fiddlers' Bid. In 2006, Boys of the Lough participated in TG4's "Geantraí". An album of the same name was issued in 2007, with contributions from Boys of the Lough, Gerry O'Connor, Joe Burke, Noel Hill, Mairtín O'Connor and others Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.