The band was formed in Norway in 1989 by guitarist Tore Østby, singer Dag Østby, drummer Werner Skogli and bassist Freddy Samsonstuen. In 1990, after a demo tape, Arve Heimdal replaced Werner Skogli and Ingar Amlien replaced Freddy Samsonstuen. A year later, Dag Østby quits, and the band is forced to search for a new vocalist. After many auditions, the band hooks up with Roy Sætre Khantatat (Roy Khan), a classically trained opera singer. Their somewhat short-lived career (the band disbanded in 1997-8) was characterized by a unique and distinct sound on the power/progressive metal genre which was slightly altered with their last studio release, Flow. Conception was reunited in 2005, playing the important American prog-metal festival Prog Power USA 2005 (Friday September 16) and Norwegian Scream Magazine 15 Years & 100 Issues Festival (Saturday October 1), bringing guitarist Tore Østby (Ark), singer Roy Khan (now lead singer of Kamelot) and the rest of the band back together. Discography: * (1991) The Last Sunset * (1993) Parallel Minds * (1995) In Your Multitude * (1997) Flow Last known line-up: * Roy S. Khan - Vocals (ex-Kamelot, Crest of Darkness as guest artist) * Tore Østby - Guitars (Ark, ex-DC Cooper) * Ingar Amlien - Bass (Crest of Darkness) * Arve Heimdal - Drums * Trond Nagell-Dahl - Keyboards Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.