Disco Ensemble

Disco Ensemble was formed in 1996 in Pori, Finland. For many years the band has been in the basements and underground-venues, writing songs and playing shows that would have put any band in the limelight to shame. From periods ranging from progressive hardcore to more accessible punk rock, childhood friends Mikko (drums) and Jussi (guitar), bassist Lasse and vocalist Miikka have been Finland's best kept secret for too long. While Disco Ensemble's sound has evolved into a highly unique blend of modern punk-rock, you might hear the echoes of Refused and At the Drive-in, as well as The Cure in the background. In the world of dull mainstream-rock and self-repeating emo-bands, Disco Ensemble sounds fresh and inspiring. With strong vocals, bold lyrics and flashy retro-synth lines from leadsman Miikka Koivisto as the icing on the cake, Disco Ensemble is too good to be kept as a secret. Disco ensemble has published five albums; Viper Ethics (2003), First Aid Kit (2005), Magic Recoveries (2008), The Island Of Disco Ensemble (2010) and Afterlife (2017). Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.