A great pop song is easy to spot, but hard to create. That's why singer/songwriter Jason Poe is obsessed with creating cleverly crafted hooks, relying on a piano and leaving his acoustic guitar behind. His catchy choruses and thoughtful lyrics leave listeners wanting more. Taking cues from musical greats like Paul McCartney and Brian Wilson, Jason has positioned himself somewhere in the musical spectrum between Aqualung and The Fray. In April of 2010, Jason embarked on a songwriting exercise of writing, recording and producing 7 songs in 7 days, and releasing them immediately to his fans. The results were 7 inspiring, well-structured pop gems. This nose to the grindstone exercise proved Jason's dedication to arranging a genuine original song, and allowing his fans access to a true and fresh songwriting experience. Two of Jason's "7 in 7" songs will be featured on the new album "Now is the Winter", which takes its title from the opening line of Shakespeare's "Richard III" - "Now is the winter of our discontent." The title alludes to the themes of discontent and hope which weave themselves through each track on the album. Jason's songwriting abilities have won him loyal fans ranging from his roots in the Midwest to Austin, Texas, the live music capitol of the world. Producer CJ Eiriksson (U2, Matchbox Twenty, Jack's Mannequin) is now working with Jason to help him fine tune his first solo album which will be released in the fall of 2010. Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.