Seven Channels

Comprised of members Kevin Kirkwood (lead vocals), Dallas Perry (guitar), Dalton Humphreys (bass), and Ben Holt (drums), Texas rockers Seven Channels posses a sound that's almost a carbon copy of such early 21st century rock radio faves as Creed, Puddle of Mudd, and Matchbox Twenty. Bandleader/founder Kirkwood began writing music as a teenager as an outlet for the pain he felt from parents' divorce. Guitarist Perry was the first to join up with Kirkwood's new project, and was quickly followed by the others as the newly formed quartet set up shop in Dallas. Seven Channels issued the independently released EP International Wonderful, and began gigging on a regular basis -- leading to being selected as one of the "Top Five Unsigned Bands in America" on VH1's 1999 Rock Across America Tour. The new group caught a break when they won a contest called "Quit Your Day Job," which resulted in the winner receiving a record deal with the Palm Pictures label. 2001 saw the release of their self-titled major-label debut. ~ Greg Prato, All Music Guide Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.