Spock's Beard

Spock's Beard is a progressive rock band formed in 1992 in Los Angeles by brothers Neal and Alan Morse. Neal (keyboards/vocals) and Alan (guitars) were joined by fellow musicians Nick D'Virgilio (Nick D'Virgilio, drums - also known as NDV) and Dave Meros (bass), and were later joined by veteran keyboardist Ryo Okumoto. Spock's Beard play a brand of progressive rock with pop music leanings, drawing much influence from Genesis and the Beatles. They are also well known for their intricate multi-part vocal harmonies and use of counterpoint much in the vein of Gentle Giant. They've released records like the acclaimed The Kindness of Strangers and V before releasing the epic concept album Snow, which also marked the departure of leader and main composer Neal Morse for a solo career as a Christian artist. After the departure of Neal Morse, the frontman role was taken on by Nick D'Virgilio. The 'new' lineup has released four more studio albums: Feel Euphoria, Octane, Spock's Beard and X. On tour, the band is supported by drummer Jimmy Keegan, leading to occasional drum duets/duels between him and Nick D'Virgilio (which can be compared to Phil Collins and Chester Thompson at Genesis concerts; drummer Collins also took the lead singer role, after original frontman Peter Gabriel left the band). On November 21, 2011 news was announced that Nick D'Virgilio would discontinue working with the band (due to his work commitments with "Cirque du soleil"), with Ted Leonard (former Enchant and Thought Chamber) replacing him on vocals and former tour drummer Jimmy Keegan replacing him on drums permanently. The band was named for the Star Trek episode "Mirror, Mirror," where the crew enters a parallel universe in which the parallel Mr. Spock is differentiated by his beard. Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.