The Declining Winter

The Declining Winter are a U.K. band based in Leeds, led by Richard Adams, the co-founder of Domino Records group Hood. The band also features Paul Elam (who also records under the name Fieldhead and is formerly of Palo Alto), Gareth S. Brown (formerly of Hood), Elaine Reynolds (also formerly of Palo Alto, and a contributor to The Boats and The Sea), and Sarah Kemp (also of Lanterns on the Lake and Last Harbour. Richard Morris (of Quack Quack, CHOPS, and Two Minute Noodles) and James M. Yates (also of The Pattern Theory) are currently sharing drumming duties between themselves after the departure of Stuart Wilson in September 2008. They released their debut 7" The Future Sound of Hip Hop Parts 1 and 2 on Misplaced Music in November 2007. The record is unique as it is made of mostly recycled materials reflecting the band's keen interest in the environment. This release was promptly followed up by a CD only remix project on Moteer featuring mixes by Bracken, Epic 45, and The Boats amongst others, and their debut full length CD Goodbye Minnesota was released by Ireland's Rusted Rail imprint in May 2008. In December 2008 they released a limited edition Remixes CD which came housed in recycled sleeves wrapped in christmas paper. On June 29th 2009 their second album, Haunt the Upper Hallways will be released on Home Assembly Music. This release consists of a luxuriously packaged 7" single which also includes a 10 track CD album, as well as bonus remix CD for the first 100 ordered through the label's website. The Declining Winter is influenced by the music of Low, The Durutti Column, Songs of Green Pheasant and early Microdisney as well as the myriad sounds of J Dilla and associates. The Declining Winter's official website is and their MySpace site is Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.