The Idle Race

No tracks found into library

The Idle Race were a cult rock group from Birmingham, England in the late 1960s. They are best known for the material released while Jeff Lynne was a member. Rhythm guitarist Dave Pritchard, bass guitarist Greg Masters and drummer Roger Spencer were the core of a band initally known as Billy King and the Nightriders, then later known as Mike Sheridan and the Nightriders and briefly as just The Nightriders. In 1966 they advertised for a new guitarist/vocalist, Jeff Lynne applied and joined the band. After releasing one single they changed their name to Idle Race. Under Jeff Lynne's leadership they released two albums that sold poorly, despite support from John Peel and Kenny Everett. In 1970, Jeff Lynne decided to join The Move so he and Roy Wood could work on what would eventually become Electric Light Orchestra The remaining members of The Idle Race recruited 2 new members and released one further album. After Greg Masters left the group they became The Steve Gibbons Band. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.