The Lotus Eaters

No tracks found into library

The Lotus Eaters is a new wave band founded in Liverpool, England, UK in 1983. Many music enthusiasts regard the group as a part of the new romantic movement. However, although Peter Coyle (vocals), Jeremy Kelly (guitar), Mike Dempsey (bass guitar), Ged Quinn (keyboard) and Stephen Creese (drums) had the elegant attire, and fashionable haircuts of new romantic bands, their music was more understated and folksy than the synthesized Euro-disco of Japan, Visage and Duran Duran. The Lotus Eaters toured extensively throughout Japan, despite arguments with their record label there. In 1998, The First Picture of You, a compilation of the Lotus Eaters' BBC Radio 1 sessions, was released, and the No Sense of Sin album was reissued on CD with bonus tracks. In 2002, The Lotus Eaters, reduced to the duo of Coyle and Kelly reformed after almost two decades, to record a new album, entitled Silent Space. In April 2009, the band (composed of Coyle, Kelly and Stephen Emmer) announced on their MySpace page that they were working, with producer Steve Power, on material for a new album, to be called A Plug-In Called Nostalgia. In March 2009 The band announced a one-off concert to be held at the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall on 25 July. The gig, a performance of the album No Sense of Sin, is to feature the trio accompanied by a string string quartet from the University of Huddersfield. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.