The Soviettes

The Soviettes were a four-person stripped down and straight up punk band from Minneapolis, Minnesota, founded in 2001. The group was composed of Annie (guitar), Sturgeon (guitar), Susy (bass guitar), and the sole male in the band, Danny (drums), all of whom switched off singing duties. They named the band "The Soviettes" when Annie was serving coffee in a previous job; one of her customers suggested "Your band should be called The Soviettes". In 2003, The Soviettes released the first album, entitled LP, on Adeline Records of Oakland, California. The album's sound was described as "fuzzy, punky, stripped, and ballsy." In 2004, the band released their second album, entitled LP II, again on Adeline Records. LP II was described as having "more bratty, fast-action" songs. The band was then noticed by Fat Wreck Chords in San Francisco, California and was shortly after signed with the label. The band released the song Paranoia! Cha-Cha-Cha for the Fat Wreck Chords compilation album Rock Against Bush, Vol. 1. On June 28, 2005, the band's third and final album, entitled LP III, was released on Fat Wreck Chords. On November 15, 2005, LP was re-released by Crustacean Records. In the last half of 2005, The Soviettes toured with Against Me!, The Epoxies, and Smoke or Fire on their first tour under the Fat Wreck Chords label. The Soviettes have been on haitus since early 2006 due to the stress of touring constantly. Susy has since moved to California while Annie and Danny formed the band Awesome Snakes who played their last show on March 19, 2010 in St. Paul, Minesota. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.